Northern Chamber Orchestra

The Heritage Centre, Macclesfield

UNTIL Saturday 15th January

Mozart Symphony No. 24 | Prokofiev Andante Op. 50 bis | Bach Brandenburg concerto No. 4 | Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 | Shostakovich Two Pieces Op. 11 | Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 1

Tickets: £23.00 stalls, £18.00 gallery | Full Time Students and Under 18s Free

Bach's Brandenburg Concertos feature wonderful music with a large variety of solo instruments. In this concert we play No. 1, No. 3 and No. 4, displaying Bach's musical genius to great effect. We plan to give the other three in the set early next season.

Mozart composed his B flat symphony K182 in Salzburg aged 17. We will enjoy a lovely slow movement with flutes and muted violins.

Prokofiev is not known for his string quartets; he wrote two, both fine works and unfairly neglected. He was obviously pleased with the final movement of his op 50 as he arranged it for string orchestra. It is full of expression, heartfelt, impassioned even. His younger contemporary, Shostakovich, had a very early success with his first symphony at the age of 19. That same year he wrote his Prelude and Scherzo for string octet, showing Bach's influence in the prelude while the scherzo is fierce and motoric.

Add your Macclesfield event for FREE here!


Related Events

Monday 8th August

Adlington Hall Gardens Only Public Sunday Openings

Monday 8th August

Adlington Hall AND Gardens Public Sunday Openings

Nub News Logo

Sign-up to the Macclesfield Nub News weekly newsletter

Subscribe now for weekly updates of local news and sport from your town. Plus what's on near where you live - and local homes for sale. All delivered straight to your in-box, every Friday.

We won't pass your details on to anyone else. By clicking the sign-up button you agree to our Privacy Policy.